#10 – Revolutionary Music

Vive La Revolution!

I’ve been in Bordeaux this past week and they’ve been making a right racket about these reforms to the pensions. In a nutshell, the government is trying to up the retirement age to 62 from 60, and up the age when you can claim a state pension from 65 to 67. Obviously the unions are pretty upset about it and so they’re doing what the French do best… Striking.

 



I’m not sure if I agree with the strikers, but I’ve not been following the events very closely. What I do know is that if someone believes strongly enough in a cause to get out on the streets and march about it, then fair enough. The tricky bit is knowing when to call it quits. We shall see.

Anyway, it made me think of some songs about revolutions that I like. I hope you do too.

Public Enemy – Rebel Without A Pause

Leonard Cohen – The Old Revolution

Bob Marley – Get Up Stand Up

Reel Big Fish – Talkin’ Bout A Revolution

T-Rex – Children Of The Revolution

Carlos Puebla – Hasta Siempre, Comandante (Song For Che)

Finally, anything by Rage Against The Machine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

