Music For Horses no. 15

A Tribe Called Quest // Sia

Here we go… Another Music For Horses post from me. I was thinking of what to put on and it struck me that I’ve missed an absolutely classic song that should have been in there from the start. A Tribe Called Quest have written some of the best rap I’ve ever listened to. It’s got a sense of humour and a point, not to mention the fact that it’s incredibly jazzy. It’s Hip Hop the way it should be. And this is not only one of their most popular songs, but one of their highlights. It’s not my favourite (I couldn’t choose just one of their songs!) but it is one that I like to put on, dim the lights and put my feet up to.

A Tribe Called Quest – Can I Kick It? [Buy]

This next song is a classic remix of a classic chillout song. The original was used on emotional moments in TV shows the world over and this remix has had a few spins too. The person who is responsible for playing it to me is one Lionel Vinyl, the Sheffield-based DJ. He was doing his thing one Friday evening and this came on and that, as they say, was that. It turns out he actually had two copies the 7″ but I wasn’t the lucky bugger who got the spare one. It’s okay, I’m not holding a grudge! Anyway, listen to this and, if you like it, look for the remix by Moby. That is also a fantastic version and I ummed and ahhed over which one to put on. In the end, I’m too much of a Four Tet fan not to use this one.

Sia – Breathe Me (Four Tet Remix) [Buy]

As usual, if you like the songs click on the buy link. It’ll take you to the 7Digital page for the artist / album so you can spend your hard earned money on their music. And feel free to let us know what you think of the songs by commenting below.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music For Horses

Leave a Reply

