#56 – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy

Have a look at this video off the Vice website. It was taken in 2003 in a baseball park on Coney Island and it’s a wonderfully stipped down song that is in parts folky, country and americana-y. The performer in question is a certain Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, who has been making music for about 20 years or so. The music he makes is consistently heartfelt and warm. While I’m not incredibly well acquainted with a lot of what he’s done, I’ve yet to be disappointed. If you like this video, we’ve also got a couple of extra songs below to give you a good old fix.

Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Matt Sweeney – What Are You [Buy]

This next song is a little (a lot) different but it’s very cool. Anything with Hot Chip stands a chance at being good and this remix with Will Oldhams alter-ego doesn’t disappoint.

Hot Chip – I Feel Bonnie Feat. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy (House Version) [Buy]

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “#56 – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy

  1. Wilbur

    Dude, you need to check out Palace Brothers.

    And my fave Bonnie album is Greatest Palace Music or maybe Ease Down The Road.

    Check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSPEPdFowAM

    Amazing!

    • As I was doing me reading for this I did have a quick listen to some Palace Brothers, among the other Palace names he’s used over the years. They are now on my ‘to listen’ list for the next week. I do love a good commute. Just what I need to listen to an album a day!

Leave a Reply

