#61 – Submarine

Hello folks. First off, sorry about the sporadic posting of late. I have to leave the house at 6am for work at the moment… Anyway, enough about that. I’m sure lots of you will have heard about Richard Ayoade’s directorial debut Submarine. The reason it’s taken me a little while to get around to posting about it (let’s face it, I was always going to!) was because I wanted to give Alex Turner’s soundtrack / EP for the album a good listen. And now I have. So have a look at the trailer for the film and listen to what I think is my favourite song off the the little 6-track release.

It’s a surprisingly French sounding record. The melodies and the guitars make me think of some old, nameless French  movies that I’ve seen. The whole thing flows through in a little cloud of twee delightfulness. The strings make it epic at times, although nowhere near as grand as The Last of the Shadow Puppets (which I wasn’t really a fan of).  ‘Stuck On A Puzzle’ is Eels-like at times, although it still draws heavily from Turner’s renowned lyricism. A good listen this one.

Alex Turner – Stuck On The Puzzle [Buy]

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “#61 – Submarine

  1. Wilbur

    And the film is pretty good too.

Leave a Reply

