#84 – Dan… Dan……. DAN!

I don’t know what it was that made me think of this the other day, but I suddenly had that image from series 2 of I’m Alan Partridge where he’s playing the air bass to Gary Numan’s ‘Music For Chameleons’ as the tax people come round. (Watch it here. I’m not doing it any justice!) Anyway, it’s a great song. So then I thought, what other songs does Mr Partridge like? He is, after all, a DJ. Here are some of his favourites. How do I know this? A careful mix of enjoying the show, Wikipedia and having too much time on my hands.

Gary Numan – Music For Chameleons [Buy]

Electric Light Orchestra – Showdown [Buy]

Abba – Fernando [Buy]

This last song shouldn’t technically be on here. Alan Partridge is a fan of Wings, and while this may sound a lot like them it isn’t. It is, in fact, the song in Role Models that people keep singing and crediting to Paul McCartney & co. Apparently it was written specially for the film. In any case, it’s good fun and it’s from a good movie. (Thanks to Page300 for that!)

Not Wings – Love Take Me Down (To The Streets)

This whole thing has basically been an excuse to put the Gary Numan up, so sorry about the ABBA. But let’s face it, that ELO is a proper classic and the Wings (or not) song isn’t too bad either. I’d say 3 from 4 isn’t bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

