Music For Horses no. 26

There are times when I listen to a song and immediately know that it belongs in this playlist. But when it’s as good as my first choice today it needs an equally superb companion. It took a while, but I was able to find the perfect ‘part 2’. Anyway, I’ll stop talking about myself and start on the music. We begin this evening with SBTRKT’s ‘Wildfire’, which features the vocals of Little Dragon. The laid back, synthy bass that drives the song gets in your head, while the vocal melody floats above it in a way that I’m struggling to find words to describe.

It’s not a new song, but that doesn’t take away from it’s pure class.

SBTRKT – Wildfire Feat. Little Dragon [Buy]

Our next song is well worth getting excited about. First things first, it’s by RAC, an artist I like so much I’d make a three-course dinner for him. Yet somehow the album this track is on completely passed me by. It’s the soundtrack to the 2010 film Holy Rollers, which is about a couple of Orthodox Jews who become ecstasy dealers. I’ll be watching it this weekend, but with a soundtrack like this it’s on a good grounding. The song is a simple loop that has a delicate synth dropping in and out and the occasional sampled line from the movie. It’s one of my favourite songs of the year, and it’s from 2010! This comes highly recommended (as, in fact, does the rest of the soundtrack).

RAC – House Party [Buy]

Leave a comment

Filed under Music For Horses

Leave a Reply

