#68 – Some More Holiday Tunes

As promised, I’m back. I had another week off… Sorry about that! As much as I bitch about life and work and all sorts of other crap, I haven’t really got a leg to stand on when I can take two weeks off and the weather decides to shine down on me.

This is just another list of good songs I’ve been listening to over the last seven days or so. Considering just how sunny it’s been there’s a song by the Buena Vista Social Club that’s made the cut and it’s amazing. The whole song is good, but it comes alive around 2:15 or so (and again at 4:15ish). Meanwhile, the Major Lazer remix was one of the very first songs I posted when this blog started and I figure that since we’re almost a year down the line and summer is well and truly teasing us then it’s about time to put it up again. Just one final note on the song by The Kinks. I heard it on the soundtrack to The Darjeeling Limited which is an outstanding film. The whole soundtrack is worth listening to, so the [Buy] link after ‘Strangers’ will take you to the soundtrack’s page and not the Kinks.

Kanye West – Monster Feat. Jay-Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj & Bon Iver [Buy]

Buena Vista Social Club – Pueblo Nuevo [Buy]

The Kinks – Strangers [Buy]

The Shins – Girl On The Wing [Buy]

MGMT – Kids [Buy]

Chistina Aguilera – What A Girl Wants [Buy]

Jamie T – Earth, Wind & Fire [Buy]

Major Lazer – Keep It Goin’ Louder (So Shifty 1961 SKA Remix) [Buy]

NB. Christina Aguilera snuck in here as I was at my girlfriend’s and she wanted to listen to some pop. That said though, it is one hell of a song, so really I don’t have anything to apologise for!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a comment