#104 – Remix O’Clock

Here we go with another roundup of remixes, old and new, that I’ve been listening to over the past week or two. I am going to start with something off the Wugazi mashup album. It’s rare for mashups to be any good at all, let alone comparable with the original songs. Yet somehow Cecil Otter  and Swiss Andy have managed to pull this off. Picking one song off the album is a pretty much impossible task. So rather than simply listening to this one song, head over to www.wugazi.com, download the album and listen to all of the songs. Lots.

Wugazi – Shame On Blue

Having put Rihanna’s latest song up on Sunday I started relistening to a reggae remix of Rude Boy I found ages ago. I don’t have a clue who it’s by, but it’s about as summery as it gets.

Rihanna – Rude Boy (Reggae Remix)

As well as that old Rihanna remix, here’s ‘Man Down’ remixed featuring Wayne Marshall. It gives him a chance to defend his actions… I’ll let you judge how successful he is. As far as the song goes it’s nothing groundbreaking but it’s worth a listen.

Rihanna – Man Down (Remix) Feat. Wayne Marshall
http://s0.wp.com/i/support/content-unavailable.png

Here’s another artist/song we’ve featured before, albeit a pretty long time ago. Sia’s ‘Breathe Me’ is a great song. I won’t hear a word said against it. And there have been some pretty sweet remixes of it (notably the Moby effort and Kieron Hebdon’s crack). This version couldn’t be much further from those two, but it’s actually pretty good in it’s own way. Turn the sub up for this…

Sia – Breathe Me (Butch Clancy Remix)

This Empire Of The Sun remix is three years old now and I’m a little ashamed to say I hadn’t heard it until earlier this week. It is classic Treasure Fingers though: funky, disco and staggeringly electro. The fact that the original song always slotted slightly into these brackets meant that it can’t have been too tricky to make work. Anyway, he has. I’d recommend this one as you’re heading out the door for a night on the town.

Empire Of The Sun – Walking On A Dream (Treasure Fingers Remix)

Finally, here’s a song that has apparently featured on the Friends With Benefits soundtrack. I wouldn’t know, as I haven’t seen the film. And the thought of anybody getting to have some sexy time with Mila Kunis upsets me, so I think I’ll probably avoid it. But this is a great remix of a great song from a great band. Okay, so maybe one of those greats wasn’t quite right, but I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy it.

Steppenwolf – Magic Carpet Ride (Phillip Steir Remix)

Some content on this page was disabled on 06/05/2016 as a result of a DMCA takedown notice from PRS for Music. You can learn more about the DMCA here:

https://wordpress.com/support/copyright-and-the-dmca/

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “#104 – Remix O’Clock

  1. Been listening to Sia non-stop for the past 3 days! so this is amazing, also love the four tet remix of breathe me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xsf_BFhv3U, very mellow.

Leave a comment