#126 – Blackbirds

Blackbird, the Beatles song written by Paul McCartney in 1968, is one of my favourite songs by the Liverpool foursome. So when I saw that a guitar group had turned the two minute song into one that is over ten minutes long, I approached it with a certain amount of skepticism. I needn’t have. It’s become a whole different song, where they’ve taken the original and turned it into a theme for a piece that circles the original, only occasionally dropping back into it. Sadly, my words cannot do the song any justice. So you should listen to it and admire the virtuosic playing of the two sets of Australian brothers, Slava & Leonard Grigoryan and Joseph & James Tawadros. It’s a stonker.

Band Of Brothers – Blackbird [Buy]

The Beatles – Blackbird [Buy]

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a comment